Skip to main content


The Energy Science and Technology Directorate (ESTD) is comprised of three divisions—Buildings and Transportation Science, Electrification and Energy Infrastructures, and Manufacturing Science. Each division houses sections and groups with specific research areas, many of which overlap with other divisions and directorates within ESTD and ORNL. ESTD is also home to nine programs covering advanced manufacturing, buildings, electricity and the power grid, fossil energy and carbon management, geothermal energy, transportation, solar power, water power, and wind energy. 

Directorate Leadership