Skip to main content

Corporate Research Fellows (Emeritus)

amit goyal
Amit Goyal
For pioneering research and distinguished contributions to the field of high-temperature superconductors, including fundamental materials science advances and technical innovations that enable commercialization.

Amit Goyal received a Ph.D. in materials science and engineering from the University of Rochester, New York, in 1991; an M.S. in mechanical and aerospace engineering from the University of Rochester in 1988; and a bachelor of technology in metallurgical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India, in 1986. He joined ORNL in 1991.

Dr. Goyal’s pioneering research has had a profound impact on the field of high-temperature superconductivity, both in fundamental materials science and in the transition of scientific discoveries from the laboratory to the marketplace. His innovations have provided elegant solutions to achieving essentially single-crystal-like behavior in long lengths of superconducting material with techniques that are industrially scalable and cost-effective and to creating self-assembled, nanoscale defects within superconductors, which dramatically enhance their properties. A unique characteristic of his research is that he has worked at the intersection of science and technology. Many aspects of his work are very fundamental in nature, yet many are very applied. He is widely regarded as an international leader in the fields of high-temperature superconducting materials, texture development in materials, and electron backscatter diffraction.

He has published more than 350 technical publications, including more than 30 invited book chapters and papers, and has co-edited 6 books. He has given more than 15 plenary talks and more than 150 invited presentations at national and international conferences. He has 80 issued patents, the most of any researcher at ORNL. A recent analysis of citations and papers published worldwide in the last decade in the field of high-temperature superconductivity, between 1999 and 2009, conducted by Thompson-Reuters’s Essential Science Indicators, ranks him as the most cited author worldwide.

He is a Battelle Distinguished Inventor and a fellow of eight professional societies: the American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS), the Materials Research Society (MRS), the American Physical Society (APS), the World Innovation Foundation (WIF), the American Society of Metals (ASM), the Institute of Physics (IOP), the American Ceramic Society (ACERS), and the World Technology Network (WTN).

Dr. Goyal has received numerous internal and external, national, and international awards of excellence. Some prominent individual awards are listed below:

Some prominent individual awards are listed below:

  • E. O. Lawrence Award, 2011 in the inaugural category of “Energy Science & Innovation”
  • World Technology Network, Materials Research Society, (MRS), 2012
  • Fellow, Materials Research Society (MRS), 2012
  • R&D Magazine’s “Innovator of the Year” Award, 2010
  • The Indian Institute of Technology’s (IIT’s), Distinguished Alumnus Award, 2009
  • Fellow, World Technology Network (WTN), 2009
  • Nano 50™ Innovator Award, 2008
  • Fellow, American Physical Society (APS), 2008
  • Pride of India Gold Award, 2007
  • Fellow, American Ceramic Society (ACERS), (2007)
  • The University of Rochester’s Distinguished Scholar Medal, 2006
  • MIT’s Global Indus Technovator Award, 2005
  • UT-Battelle Inventor of the Year Award, 2005
  • Fellow, ASM International (ASM), 2005
  • Fellow, Institute of Physics (IOP), 2005
  • Tennessee Chamber of Commerce Outstanding Young Tennessean Award, 2004
  • Fellow, American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS), 2004
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology Technical Review TR100 Award, 1999
  • ORNL Inventor of the Year Award for Sustained Accomplishments, 1999
  • Two ASM-IIM Distinguished Lecturer Awards, 2006, 2010

Some prominent team awards are listed below:

  • Eight R&D 100 Awards, 1999 (RABiTS technology), 2007, 2009, 2010, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013
  • Three Federal Laboratory Consortium Awards for Excellence in Technology Transfer, 2001, 2008, 2011
  • One MICRO/NANO 25 Award , 2007
  • One UT-Battelle Excellence in Technology Transfer Award, 2006
  • One Nano 50™ Technology Award, 2006
  • Three U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Exceptional Accomplishment Awards, 2003, 2004, 2005
  • An American Superconductor Corporation Technology Transfer Appreciation Award, 2002
  • A DOE Energy-100 Award for the finest 100 scientific accomplishments of DOE since it opened its doors in 1977, 2001
  • An American Museum of Science and Technology Tribute to Tennessee Technology Award, 1999
  • An ORNL R&D Significant Development Accomplishment Award, 1999
  • An ORNL R&D Sustained Development Accomplishment Award, 1999
  • An ORNL World-Class Teamwork Award, 1999
  • A Lockheed-Martin NOVA Award for Technical Achievement, 1997
  • An ORNL R&D Significant Technical Accomplishment Award, 1997
  • A DOE Materials Science Award for Technical Achievement in Solid State Physics,1996

He was named a corporate fellow in 2008.