Skip to main content
Organization News

Five FFESD employees recognized for their contributions to DOE endeavors

Five members of the Fusion and Fission Energy and Science Directorate’s (FFESD) Spent Fuel Nondestructive Assay Project Team were recognized with Secretary’s Honor Awards. The recognitions were granted by former U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Secretary Dan Brouillette as he completed his term.

The team, which includes ORNL’s Brandon Grogan, Jianwei Hu, Germina Ilas, Andy Worrall and Louise Worrall, made key technical and programmatic contributions to this important nuclear safeguards challenge by researching possible techniques, then building, field testing and analyzing results. Also cited were retirees Bryan Broadhead, Stephen Croft and Ian Gauld and Cathy Romano, formerly of ORNL.

In total, thirty-four ORNL staff members were named among teams recognized in 2021 by Brouillette with Secretary’s Honor Awards. The annual awards recognize the achievements of those who have gone above and beyond in fulfilling DOE’s mission and serving the nation. A new group of awards for 2020 reflect DOE responses to the coronavirus pandemic. In letters introducing the awards, Brouillette wrote that these researchers and staff members "have surpassed the highest standards of excellence, demonstrated great knowledge and ability, and exhibited an exceptional commitment to service.”