2019 INCITE Award

Jeremy Smith

Seven researchers from the Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory have been chosen by the Innovative and Novel Computational Impact on Theory and Experiment, also known as INCITE, program to lead scientific investigations...

2018 ACM Gordon Bell Prize

Daniel Jacobson, Wayne Joubert

Two US Department of Energy (DOE) National Laboratories were recently awarded the 2018 Association for Computing Machinery’s (ACM’s) Gordon Bell Prize for work done on the Oak Ridge Leadership Computing Facility’s (OLCF’s) Summit...

Royal Society of Chemistry Fellow

Art Ragauskas

Dr. Art Ragauskas elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry for technical achievements in green chemistry and contributions to fundamental insights in biorefining.

American Society of Plant Biologists

Richard Dixon

Dr. Richard Dixon, Distinguished Research Professor at the University of North-Texas and Research Domain Lead of Accelerative Science in the Center for Bioenergy Innovation (CBI), has been named a Fellow of the ASPB.


Marquis Who's Who Lifetime Achievement

Art Ragauskas

Arthur Ragauskas, Governor’s Chair in Biorefinery and Research Council Member in the Center for Bioenergy Innovation (CBI) received the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award.  Marquis Who’s Who, the world’s premier publisher...

Silver Award from The Plant Journal

Jerry Tuskan, Lee Gunter, Wellington Muchero, Priya Ranjan

CBI authors received Silver Award from The Plant Journal

The Silver Award for “Best Original Article” published in The Plant Journal in 2017 was awarded to the authors of “The Physcomitrella ...

AAAS Fellowship

Mitchel Doktycz

Mitchel Doktycz, leader of the Biological and Nanoscale Systems Group in the Biosciences Division, was elected by the AAAS section on biological sciences for “distinguished contributions to the field of biological...

Innovative and Novel Computational Impact on Theory and Experiment Award

Dan Jacobson, Julie Mitchell, Gerald Tuskan, Timothy Tschaplinski, Jeremy Smith

The Department of Energy’s Office of Science has awarded a cross-disciplinary team  at Oak Ridge National Laboratory with 70 million hours on the Titan supercomputer for a project titled, “Co-evolutionary Networks: From Genome to 3D...

Society for Industrial Microbiology and Biotechnology fellowship

Brian Davison

Brian Davison, a researcher at the Department of Energy's Oak Ridge National Laboratory, has been awarded a 2017 fellowship by the Society for Industrial Microbiology and Biotechnology (SIMB).

SIMB fellowship is a...

DOE Early Career Funding Award

Wellington Muchero

Four Oak Ridge National Laboratory researchers specializing in environmental, biological and computational science are among 49 recipients of Department of Energy's Office of Science Early Career Research Program awards.


DOE Early Career Funding Award

David Weston

David Weston, of ORNL’s Biosciences Division, submitted a proposal titled, “Determining the genetic and environmental factors underlying mutualism within a plant-microbiome system driving nutrient acquisition and...

Charles D. Scott Award Winner 2017 - Jonathan R. Mielenz

Jonathan R. Mielenz

Jonathan Mielenz, was awarded the 2017 Charles D. Scott award at the 39th Symposium on Biotechnology for Fuels and Chemicals from the Society for Industrial Microbiology and Biotechnology.

Dr. Jonathan R. Mielenz received his...