Georgeta Radulescu

Senior R&D Staff

Dr. Georgeta Radulescu is a Senior Research and Development (R&D) Staff member in the Radiation Transport Group, Nuclear Energy and Fuel Cycle Division, at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), where she has been employed since 2005. Her technical expertise includes application of variance reduction methods to complex shielding calculations, depletion calculations and source term generation, depletion and criticality code validations for spent nuclear fuel (SNF) burnup credit applications, cross-section sensitivity and uncertainty analyses, and nuclear heating determination. At ORNL, Georgeta primarily performed and documented analyses for R&D projects of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission and DOE Office of Energy related to storage and transportation of commercial SNF. Georgeta’s prior work experience includes working as a senior nuclear engineer at the Yucca Mountain Project between 1998 and 2005, where she authored more than twenty engineering calculation reports documenting shielding design and dose rate evaluations for the waste packages and facilities of the proposed geologic repository, and working as a research scientist at the 14-MW TRIGA Research Reactor in Pitesti, Romania, between 1986 and 1995, on research projects for determining absorbed dose in reactor and industrial gamma facilities. Georgeta has an M.S. degree (1986) in Engineering Physics from University of Bucharest, Romania, and M.S. (1997) and Ph.D. (2003) degrees from The University of Texas at Austin.    


2013: ORNL Significant Event Reward for “Development of Technical Basis for NRC Regulatory Guidance to Enable Expanded Utilization of High-Capacity Spent Nuclear Fuel Storage and Transportation Systems;” Team: J. M. Scaglione, G. Radulescu, I. C. Gauld, D. E. Mueller, G. Illas, W. J. Marshall, and J. C. Wagner.

2021: Copyright Award for "Used Nuclear Fuel-Storage, Transportation & Disposal Analysis Resource and Data System (UNF-ST&DARDS) 4.x." Team: K. Banerjee, J. B. Clarity, R. M. Cumberland, R. A. Lefebvre, H. K. Liljenfeldt, L. P. Miller, G. Radulescu, K. R. Robb, and J. M. Scaglione.