Miaofang Chi

Miaofang Chi

Corporate Fellow / Joint Professor at Duke University

Miaofang Chi is an ORNL Corporate Fellow at the Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences (CNMS). She received her Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering from the University of California, Davis in 2008. Prior to joining the Microscopy Group at ORNL in 2008, she was a visiting scholar at the National Center for Electron Microscopy at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (2004-2006) and was a research fellow at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (2006-2008). 

Miaofang has received numerous honors and awards:

  • ORNL Corporate Fellow (2023)
  • Pioneers in Microscopy, inspiring future generations of women scientists (20th International Microscopy Congress, 2023)
  • ORNL Director’s Award, Outstanding Individual Accomplishment in Science and Technology (2015 and 2021) 
  • Burton Metal (Microscopy Society of America, 2016) 
  • Kurt Heinrich Award (Microanalysis Society, 2019)

Maiofang is also a Fellow of the Microscopy Society of America (2022) and Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (2023). She was a Clarivate Highly Cited Researcher in both 2022 and 2023. She has extensive research experience in the development and application of novel electron microscopy techniques for energy and quantum materials materials. Her current research focuses on understanding mass and electron transport and redistribution behavior at the atomic-scale at functional interfaces in materials and systems for energy storage, sustainability and quantum information science.  

  • 2023, RSC Fellow
  • 2022, Fellow of Microscopy Society of America. 
  • 2021, Director’s Award for Outstanding Accomplishment in Science & Technology, ORNL.
  • 2021, Distinguished Scientist, ORNL.
  • 2022, 2021, 2020, 2018, Global highly cited researchers, Clarivate Analytics. 
  • 2019, the K.F.J. Heinrich Award, Microanalysis Society (MAS).
  • 2019, DOE-BES Early Career Research Award.
  • 2017, 2016, 2015, Significant Event Award, Oak Ridge National Laboratory. 
  • 2016, Burton Medal Award, Microscopy Society of America. 
  • 2015, Director’s Award for Outstanding Accomplishment in Science & Technology, ORNL.
  • 2015, Early Career Researcher Award, ORNL.
  • 2006-2008, Lawrence Graduate Student Research Fellowship at Lawrence Livermore National Lab, Livermore, CA.
  • 2007, Distinguished Scholar Award (MAS), Microscopy & Microanalysis 2007 Annual Meeting, Fort Lauderdale, FL.
  • 2007, Graduate Student Award, 11th Frontiers of Electron Microscopy in Materials Science Conference.

Advanced Transmission Electron Microscopes