Stan D Wullschleger

Director, Environmental Sciences Division; Director, Climate Change Science Institute

Stan joined the Environmental Sciences Division (ESD) in 1990 as a Distinguished Holleander Post-doctoral Fellow. His education is in forest biology (BS and MS, Colorado State University) and crop physiology (PhD, University of Arkansas). He has spent more than 25 years at ORNL conducting research in a creative and team-oriented environment. Stan studies the sustainable use of herbaceous and woody bioenergy crops as a renewable source of transportation fuel; participates in fundamental investigations of plant biology using a variety of molecular approaches; and investigates the physiological mechanisms by which terrestrial ecosystems respond to global environmental change. He is Director for the Next-Generation Ecosystem Experiments (NGEE Arctic) project, an interdisciplinary team of more than 140 scientists who are working to address how permafrost thaw in a warming Arctic will affect important ecosystem-climate feedbacks. The project is founded on a systems-level perspective with integrated, model-inspired studies in geophysics, hydrology, biogeochemistry, vegetation dynamics, and multi-scale modeling. Stan also serves as Director of the Environmental Sciences Division and the Climate Change Science Institute where he is responsible for leadership, strategic planning,


Outstanding Alumnus, Crop, Soil, and Environmental Sciences, University of Arkansas (2016)UT-Battelle Corporate Fellow (2013)UT-Battelle Awards Night Recipient, Science Communicator (2013)UT-Battelle Awards Night Director's Award for Outstanding Team Accomplishment (2007)UT-Battelle Awards Night Winner, Scientific Research Team (2007)Scientific Achievement Award (1998), Environmental Sciences Division, Oak Ridge, TNAlexander Hollaender Distinguished Postdoctoral Fellowship (1990), ORAU, Oak Ridge, TNOutstanding Graduate Student Award (1990), American Society of AgronomyGerald O. Mott Scholarship (1989), Crop Science Society of AmericaBASF Outstanding Presentation Award (1989), Beltwide Cotton Production Research Confer­encesAubrey E. Harvey Award (1988), Sigma Xi Research Society, University of ArkansasOutstanding Agronomy Ph.D. Student (1987), Department of Agronomy, University of ArkansasHill Memorial Fellowship (1981), Department of Forest Science, Colorado State UniversityColorado Graduate Scholarship (1980), Graduate School, Colorado State University