Qiang Zhang

Neutron Scattering Scientist

Qiang Zhang is an instrument scientist at POWGEN, located at the Spallation Neutron Source (SNS), ORNL. Before becoming a staff member, he worked as an assistant professor-research and research associate V in Louisiana State University (2015-2018). He was a postdoctoral research associate in Ames Laboratory & Iowa State University (2011-2015).  He did research work as a Marie Curie fellow in Laboratory CRISMAT, CNRS, France (2009-2011).  He studied in Leiden University, the Netherlands, as an exchange PhD student in 2006. He received his PhD in Materials Physics and Chemistry from Institute of Metal Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences, 2009.

His interest is to explore how the coupling between lattice, spin, orbital and/or charge degree of freedom drives the fantastic properties in various functional materials using various characterization techniques, with an emphasis on neutron scattering techniques. The materials he is currently working include but not limited to topological semimetals, multiferroics, high-Tc superconductors, thermoelectric materials, and magnetocaloric materials.  He has good expertise in the determination of the crystal and magnetic structures on both powder and single crystal samples.  


See a full publication list:    

Publons:  Qiang Zhang | Publons

Google citations: https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=Hj33eQgAAAAJ&hl=en