Easo P George

Easo P George

UT/ORNL Governor's Chair

Easo George, one of the world’s foremost authorities on advanced alloy development and theory, has been named the 15th Governor’s Chair at the Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory and the University of Tennessee.

George comes from the Ruhr University Bochum in Germany where he has been Professor of Materials Design and Director of the Center for Interface Dominated High Performance Materials since November 2014. Prior to that he had a nearly three decades long career at ORNL where he was a distinguished research staff member and head of the Alloy Behavior and Design Group. He was also a professor of materials science and engineering at UT since 2002.

His research areas include high-entropy alloys, small-scale mechanical behavior of crystalline and amorphous materials; refractory and precious metals for space power applications; mechanical behavior at extremes of temperature and strain rate; and environmental effects on microstructure and mechanical properties.

The new Governor’s Chair for Advanced Alloy Theory and Development earned a bachelor’s degree with distinction in metallurgical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur in 1981 and a doctorate in materials science and engineering from the University of Pennsylvania in 1985. Among other positions he has held are visiting scholar at Kyoto University, Japan (2014) and Ruhr University Bochum, Germany (2001, 2002) and visiting scientist at the National Research Institute for Metals in Tsukuba, Japan (1995, 1997, 1999).

NRIM Fellowship, Science and Technology Agency, Japan (1995);

Beuhler Best Paper Award, Materials Characterization journal (1995);

Ranked 8th in the world by ISI among highly cited materials scientists (1995);

Sustained Outstanding Research Award, Department of Energy (1998);

NASA Group Achievement Award for the Cassini RTG Team (1999);

American Society for Metals (ASM International) Fellow (1999);

Humboldt Prize, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany (2000);

Ribbon Award for Outstanding Paper, Materials Research Society (2005);

Outstanding Symposium Paper Award, Materials Research Society (2008);

The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (TMS) Fellow (2010);

Top cited paper in Scripta Materialia during 2007-2011 (2012);

Invitation Fellowship of the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (2013).George has been an editorial board member of Intermetallics and Materials Characterization journals and an adjunct professor of materials science at Auburn University.