David J Dean

Associate Laboratory Director for Physical Sciences

David Dean has been the Physics Division Director at Oak Ridge National Laboratory since 2011. He also leads ORNL’s Isotope Program which produces and performs R&D on isotope relevant to medicine, industry, and national security. He received his B.Sc. Degree from the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga in 1985, and the Ph.D. degree from Vanderbilt University in 1991. After a post-doctoral fellowship at the California Institute of Technology, he came to ORNL as a Wigner Fellow in 1995. Dr. Dean has made numerous fundamental contributions to nuclear many-body theory, including developments of quantum Monte Carlo methods for the investigations of thermal properties of finite nuclei and their interactions in stellar environments, and coupled-cluster theory developments applied to very neutron rich medium mass-nuclei. Most recently, he has been leading a quantum computing initiative at ORNL. Dr. Dean is the chair of the Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB) Scientific Advisory Committee, and a member of the Jefferson Laboratory Program Advisory Committee. He is also the Vice Chair of the Division of Nuclear Physics of the APS. Dr. Dean served as Senior Advisor to the Under Secretary for Science at the Department of Energy (2009-2011). In this role, Dr. Dean advised the Under Secretary on DOE’s role in climate treaty verification, exascale computing, and a variety of other areas where policy meets science. He also co-chaired an OSTP Fast Track Action Committee on computational modeling, Dr. Dean was also the director of ORNL’s Institutional Planning Office (2008-2011) where he worked with Laboratory leadership to develop long-term plans for ORNL.  Dr. Dean was a Division Associate Editor of PRL (2008-2014), and part of the 2007 and 2015 Nuclear Science Advisory Committee (NSAC) Long Range Plan Writing Groups. He was also a member of NSAC (2003-2007). Dr. Dean is a PECASE winner (1998), a Fellow of the APS (2004), and of the Institute of Physics (London) (2011).