David A Cullen

R&D Staff

Dr. David A. Cullen is a research staff member in the Electron and Atom Probe Microscopy Group of the Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. He is also a joint faculty member in the Bredesen Center for Interdisciplinary Research and Graduate Education at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. He received a B.S. in Applied Physics from Brigham Young University, and a Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering from Arizona State University. His national laboratory experience began well before reaching ORNL, having completed three summer internships at the Idaho National Laboratory and a unique graduate internship with Shell Global Solutions, in which he worked with the STEM group at ORNL. These experiences culminated with being offered the Alvin M. Weinberg Fellowship shortly after his graduation from ASU. His current research interests are focused on the advanced characterization of fuel cell catalysts by electron microscopy, but also include a wide range of collaborations through the Center for Nanophase Materials Science user program. His fuel cell collaborations are also expansive, with ongoing joint efforts with various industrial, academic, and national laboratory partners. Dr. Cullen has also had several opportunities to collaborate internationally, including as a participant at the Workshop to Foster US-Brazilian Research Collaborations in Rio de Janeiro, applied electron microscopy training school with the Instituto Potosino de Investigación Científica y Tecnológica in San Luis Potosi, Mexico, and a fuel cell research exchange at CEA-Grenoble in France.


Presidential Early Career Award for Science and Engineers (2019)
Appalachian Regional Microscopy Society Young Investigator Award (2013)
Alvin M. Weinberg Fellow, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (2010)
ARCS (Achievement Rewards for College Scientists) Scholar, Phoenix Chapter (2009)
Distinguished Scholar Award, Microbeam Analysis Society (2009)
ORCA Undergraduate Research Grant Award, Brigham Young University (2005)