Skip to main content

ORNL’s Egami, Katsaras, Lumsden named NSSA fellows

OAK RIDGE, Tenn., Mar. 16, 2018 – Takeshi Egami, Mark Lumsden and John Katsaras, researchers at the Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory, have been selected as 2018 fellows of the Neutron Scattering Society of America (NSSA) for their work in neutron scattering in North America.

Neutron scattering is the science of analyzing the atomic and molecular structure of materials with neutrons. NSSA fellows are selected from scientists who have made significant contributions through original research, innovative contributions in the application of neutron scattering, promotion of neutron scattering and participation in the activities of the neutron science community.

Egami, of ORNL’s Physical Sciences Directorate and University of Tennessee-ORNL distinguished scientist, was cited “for seminal contribution to the development of neutron scattering, theory and simulation tools to understand the local atomic structure and dynamics of a wide range of strongly correlated classical and electronic many-body systems.”

Katsaras, of ORNL’s Neutron Sciences Directorate (NScD), was cited by the NSSA “for developing and applying neutron scattering techniques to studies of biomembranes, and for helping solve important problems related to the structure and dynamics of biological systems.”

Lumsden, also of NScD, was cited “for outstanding applications of neutron scattering to the study of iron-based superconductors and other problems at the forefront of condensed matter physics, and for important contributions to the advancement of inelastic neutron scattering in North America.”

ORNL is managed by UT-Battelle for the Department of Energy's Office of Science, the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States. DOE’s Office of Science is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, please visit