Skip to main content

ASM International elects Armstrong, Muralidharan, Payzant as fellows

ASM International recently elected three researchers from the Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory as 2021 fellows.

Selected were Beth Armstrong and Govindarajan Muralidharan, both from ORNL’s Material Sciences and Technology Division, and Andrew Payzant from the Neutron Scattering Division.

Armstrong was honored for her work in “sustained research excellence in colloid science and synthesis enabling advancements in batteries, coatings, catalysts and fuel cells, and for mentoring the next generation of materials scientists.”

Armstrong has also won two R&D 100 awards, has authored 143 papers and holds 16 patents; three more have been submitted. She was the recipient of a Federal Laboratory Consortium Award, as well as ORNL’s Distinguished Inventor Award and Significant Event Award.

Muralidharan was recognized for “significant technical contributions in the research, development and commercialization of high-temperature alloys for use in harsh environments prevalent in industrial process, energy and automotive applications."

Muralidharan, who has won four R&D 100 awards and one regional Federal Laboratory Consortium Award, has 21 patents, with five other patent applications pending.

Andrew Payzant, Materials Engineering Group leader, was awarded for “outstanding contributions to the characterization of non-equilibrium phenomena in materials using X-ray and neutron scattering techniques.”

Payzant is a JCPDS - International Center for Diffraction Data fellow, chair of the ICDD board of directors and recipient of an American Welding Society A.F. Davis Silver Medal Award. He has co-authored more than 200 papers and holds three patents.

ASM established the Fellow of the Society honor in 1969 and continues to recognize excellence in materials science and engineering with the award.

ORNL is managed by UT-Battelle for the Department of Energy’s Office of Science, the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States. DOE’s Office of Science is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, please visit DeMarco