Skip to main content

ACA recognizes ORNL's Chakoumakos, Wang

The American Crystallographic Association (ACA) has recognized two ORNL staff members at its annual meeting.

Bryan Chakoumakos, team leader for Single-Crystal Diffraction, Neutron Scattering Division, won the ACA’s 2019 Robert Bau Neutron Diffraction Award. The award recognizes “exceptional research achievements in neutron diffraction.” He was named an ACA fellow in 2016.

Xiaoping Wang was elected fellow of the ACA. He is a senior scientist in the Neutron Scattering Division, where his research spans chemical crystallography, 3D single-crystal diffraction using neutron wavelength-resolved Laue techniques, hydrogen bonding interactions in metal hydride complexes, inorganic-organic hybrid perovskites and energy materials, structural and magnetic phase transitions.

ORNL is managed by UT-Battelle for the Department of Energy’s Office of Science, the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States. DOE’s Office of Science is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, please visit