Skip to main content

Enrico Fermi

The Enrico Fermi Award honors scientists of international stature for their lifetime achievement in the development, use, or production of energy. The Fermi Award, which dates to 1956, honors the memory of Enrico Fermi, leader of the group of scientists who on December 2, 1942, achieved the first self-sustained, controlled nuclear reaction at the University of Chicago. The award is administered by the U.S. Department of Energy.


The scientists listed below are Fermi Award recipients who worked at Oak Ridge National Laboratory.