Dean A Myles

Dean Myles is a Distinguished Research Staff member in the Neutron Scattering Division, researching the structure, function and dynamics of protein complexes and biological assemblies. He received his PhD in Physics from the University of Keele, UK, using X-ray crystallography to study immune response proteins. Following post-doctoral work at the UK Daresbury Synchrotron Radiation Source (SRS) and the Institute Laue Langevin (ILL), France, he led the neutron-based structural biology program at the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) Outstation in Grenoble, France. In 2003, Myles joined ORNL to lead the development of instrumentation, labelling and research programs for structural biology at HFIR and SNS, and has since served in multiple project and program management roles within ORNL. He is a PhD mentor in the Genome Science and Technology program at the University of Tennessee. Research today centers on studies of protein structure, function and design, with special interest in novel isotope and spin labeling techniques for neutron structural biology.

Daresbury Synchrotron Radiation Source (SRS)

Institute Laue Langevin (ILL)

European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL)

High Flux Isotope Reactor (HFIR)

Spallation Neutron Source (SNS)

View All