Skip to main content

Preston to receive AGU's Falkenberg Award


August 6, 2015 — Climate researcher Benjamin Preston of the Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory has been named to receive the American Geophysical Union's 2015 Charles S. Falkenberg Award.

The Falkenberg Award is presented once a year “in recognition of an early- to middle-career scientist who has contributed to the quality of life, economic opportunities and stewardship of the planet through the use of Earth science information and to the public awareness of the importance of understanding our planet.”

Preston is a senior research scientist in ORNL’s Environmental Sciences Division and deputy director of the Climate Change Science Institute, where he conducts research on the societal impacts of climate change and the role of adaptation in reducing climate risk.

He received his doctorate from the Georgia Institute of Technology. His research career includes posts at the Pew Center on Global Change and Australia's Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization. Preston is also a coordinating lead author for Working Group II of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change’s Fifth Assessment Report.

UT-Battelle manages ORNL for the Department of Energy’s Office of Science. The Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States, and is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, please visit