Skip to main content

Chakoumakos elected American Crystallographic Association fellow

OAK RIDGE, Tenn., July 25, 2016 – Bryan Chakoumakos, a researcher at the Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory, has been elected fellow of the American Crystallographic Association.

Chakoumakos, who leads the Structure of Matter group in the Quantum Condensed Matter Division, has been recognized by the association for his excellence in research, service and leadership in the world of crystallography.

Chakoumakos studies neutron scattering at ORNL’s High Flux Isotope Reactor and Spallation Neutron Source and is a scientific director of the National School on Neutron and X-Ray Scattering, an educational program for graduate student researchers run by ORNL and Argonne National Laboratory.

ORNL is managed by UT-Battelle for the Department of Energy's Office of Science, the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States. DOE’s Office of Science is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, please visit