Michael R Fitzsimmons

Distinguished R&D Staff and Professor of Physics

Dr. Michael Fitzsimmons is a Distinguished R&D staff member at ORNL, having served as a group leader in the Neutron Science Directorate for four years. Fitzsimmons holds a joint faculty appointment (25%) as a Professor of Physics at the University of Tennessee. Fitzsimmons received his Ph.D. from Cornell University and has previously held positions at Los Alamos National Laboratory (staff member), the University of California at San Diego (visiting researcher), and the Université H. Poincaré Vandœuvre les Nancy, France (visiting researcher). A part of Fitzsimmons’ research is focused on interface magnetism in planar heterostructures and non-planar mesoscale composites. Fitzsimmons is also active in a project to characterize turbulent flow around objects unders conditions of large Reynolds number using neutron beams and cryogenic He. Fitzsimmons has authored 140+ publications, which have been cited 4700+ times.  For more information see: https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=5xDFeHsAAAAJ&hl=en. Fitzsimmons has served as conference chair for numerous conferences, including the Fall 2008 meeting of the Materials Research Society and the Condensed Matter Programming Committee at the American Conference on Neutron Scattering. Fitzsimmons was the Treasurer and an Officer of the Board of Directors for Materials Research Society from 1/2010 to 12/2015. Fitzsimmons was elected to the Presidential line of the MRS in September 2017. His 3-year term begins January 1, 2018. He presently serves as the 2019 President of the MRS. Fitzsimmons is a fellow of the American Physical Society and the Neutron Scattering Society of America.


2014         Fellow of the Neutron Scattering Society of America
2014         Visiting scholar, University of California at San Diego
2008-11   Visiting scholar, the Laboratoire de Physique des Matériaux, Université H. Poincaré Vandœuvre les Nancy, France
2007         Fellow of the American Physical Society
2004         Los Alamos Neutron Science Director’s Award
2001         Los Alamos National Laboratory Director’s Award (individual)


Los Alamos Neutron Science Center
Institute Laue Langevin
Soleil at Saclay France
Stanford Linear Accelerator
Cornell High Energy Neutron Source
Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin
Paul Scherrer Institute
Advanced Photon Source
Advance Light Source