Matthew F Chisholm

Group Leader and Research Staff


  • Ph.D, Materials Science, Carnegie-Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA, 1986
       Thesis advisor: Prof. David E. Laughlin, Carnegie-Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA.
  • B.S., Materials Science, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, 1977

Research and Professional Appointments:

  • 2013 - present, Group Leader, Electron Microscopy Group, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN
  • 2013- present, Research Faculty, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN
  • 5/2006 - 9/2006, Visiting Professor, University of Tokyo, Japan
  • 1988 - present, Research Staff Member, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN
  • 1986 - 1988, Postdoctoral Fellow, IBM, Yorktown Heights, NY
  • 1981 - 1986, Research Assistant, Carnegie-Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA
  • 1977 - 1981, Research Staff, Reynolds Metals Co., Richmond, VA

Research Interests:

  • Explore the physics of defects and structure/property correlations with atomic-resolution scanning transmission electron microscopy and electron energy-loss spectroscopy.

Professional Societies:

  • Materials Research Society
  • American Physical Society
  • Microscopy Society of America
  • The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society

Professional Research Associates Supervised: 20

  • J. Guo, Professor, Taiyuan University of Technology
  • J. Lee, Staff, Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences, ORNL
  • H. Zhou, Research Staff, University of Illinois - Urbana
  • S.-H. Oh, Professor, Pohang University, Korea
  • W. Luo, Professor, Shanghai JiaoTong University
  • J. Tao, Staff Scientist, Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Y. Peng, Postdoctoral Research Associate, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • K. van Benthem, Professor, University of California at Davis
  • A. Borisevich, Staff Scientist, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • A. R. Lupini, Staff scientist, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • G. Duscher, Professor, University of Tennessee
  • X. Fan,  Laboratory Manager, University of Michigan
  • H. J. Gao, Professor, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China
  • M. Kim, Professor, Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea
  • A. Maiti, Staff Scientist, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • C. Prouteau, Position unknown
  • Y. Yan, Senior Staff Scientist, National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA
  • M. M. McGibbon, Position unknown
  • A. J. McGibbon, Staff scientist, National Semiconductor, Scotland
  • N. D. Browning, Distinguished Professor, University of California–Davis, and Staff Scientist, National Center for Electron Microscopy, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA