CHILD LABOR LAWS

The State of Tennessee and the U. S. Department of Labor

This chart summarizes the child labor lides of the State of Tennessee and the United States Department of Labor's Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
An asterisk® denotes the stricler provisions.

MINORS 14 AND 15—Under 14 years old MAY NOT WORK MINORS 16 AND 17
SCHooL Tennessee: COMPULSORY  Must atiend Mll-time unless o high school Tennessee: May NOT work during sehool hours
ATTENDANCE gravuate or holds an exemption from school attendance. May nol work during unless a high schoo! graduate, holds a GED, o

sehool howrs. enrolled in a school work expericnce program.

FLSA: Muay not work duriug sehool howrs,

OO Tennessee: Prior 1o hiving, employer imvst abtain and keep o copy ol winor’s bitth certiticale or mher evidence of the minor®

OFAGE

age by statute.

FLSA: Prior 1o hiving, emplover st obtein aid keep o copy of proof of age.

. Tennessee: May work 3 howes a diy when sehool is scheduled the [ollowing

HHOURS MINORS day. May work 18 hours o week when school is in session, May work 8 hours on PR b

PERMITTED TO n day not preceding a schiool day. FLSA: Na limitations.
WORK

Tennessee: No limitations.

FTLSA: When sehool i in session, daily niaximam ix 3 howrs on sehool dayvs, 8
Dovrs nean-selool days; weekly ataximum is 18 hours. Wien enrolled fin Work
Faperience and Career Explovarion Progron (WECEP), 3 honrs a day; weekly
meximun i 23 fiowes,

Tennessee and FLSA: During holidays and summer vacat
B honrs and weekly maxinmm is 40 hows,

n, daily maxiom is

see: Muy work between 10 pan. amd 2

Tennessee: May work between 7 am, and 7 paim, when sehool is seheduled the ¢
mitmight no more an theee nights o week (Sunday

following day. During holidays and summer vaestion may work until 9 pan,

ML through Thursday) provided the parent or guandian
SPREAD g ¥l 1 ihe ¢ &
Or HouRrs FLSA: Work miust be performed between 7 aon, and 7 pooe. Frons Jime | o f"i’m"* to ":V‘E employer it signed amd notarized
Lalar Day ntay work wntil 9 . slement ot-consent
FLSA: No laitations.
Tennessee: A minor shall have a 3-minute wapatd break o meal period iF scheduled 1o work 6 hours consecutively. Such break shall
not be seheduled during or before the first hour of seheduled work activity.
BREAKS

FLSA: No lhaitations.

T Minoes pacticipsting in Foon work sre exempt under T.CAL, §50-5- T Minaors ing in faem work are

10730, exampl under T.CAL, §.‘ill-5.- 107(3).

AGRICULTURE e
FLSA: No eniplayment permitted duving schodl howes. May work afier school in FLSA: No fimifations.
aeeuputions wot declved hozardois in Agricalieee. See Child Lalior Bulletin
102: (12 aned 13 year olds may he ensployed on a farm where minor's parent is
alse empluyed. Not during school honrs.)

Tennessee and FLSA: No minor 14 amd 15 niny work in these occupations or use this equi Power-deiven machinery, viling or
clenning machines, work in freezers o meat coolers, using meat or vegetuble slicers, power-diiven lnundrey or dry eleaning machinery, *door-
RESTRICTED t-tonr sales of products s employment, spray printing, operating o motor vehicle, any numulicluring, any mining, most processing oceupi-
OCCUPATIONS tions, public messenger service, apeting or tending of hoisting apparatus, any occupations deemed hazandous, veenpations in connection
with transporttion, warchousiog and stomge, communications, pullic wilities, and constretion, work in boiler or engine moms, work in
nainteminee or repair of mochines or equipiment, ontside window washing using lodders or seafTolds, cooking and baking, s Toading and
wnlonding goods (o amd frop trueks, milvomd cars, or eonveyors,

Tennessee: Minors under 16 employed in Youth Peddling may not be trmnsported more than 5 miles from e minor's resideace. No minor
uider 18 may be employed in 2 place of employment where more than 25% of the total monthly gross receipts is from e sale of infoxicating
beverages, Mo minor muy be employed in vecupations invelving posing or modeling alone or with others while engaged in sexual conduet for
the purpose of preparing o [ilm, photogeaph, negative, slide or motion picture

Tesmessee and FLSA: No minor under 18 nuy work in these oceupations declired to be hazardous: T or araund explosives, motor vehicle
driving i mining i logging or sawmilling, *operation of power-driven woodworking machines, in or amound rmdione-
five substanees aud fonizing radiations, opertion of elevator or pther power-driven hoisting app Foperation of power-diiven metal
Torming, panching amd shearing nachines, mining occupations, *skwghtering, meat packing processing or rendering, operation of power-
driven hakery machines, *operation of power-driven paper products machine, manuficture of biick, tile and Kindred produets, *operation of
circular snws, bund saws and guillotine shears, wreeking, demwlition and shi king apermtions, *roofing opemtions, and *excavation
operations. T addition, ‘T ulso icts any occupation the Coy mer deems hnzicdous,

Tennessee: Minors who work for their parents in oceupations not declared hnzardous are exempt from restictions on howrs. Minoes

EXCEPTIONS employed us aetor o perlormiers i legitinte entedainment praductions, Minors 16 or 17 years old being home sehooled or enrolled in a
D

% 1 > ehieh-related home sehool,

(eantunet nuthoritics

for more FESA: Minors employed by theiv pavents in aceupations mot declared hozardous. Minors employed as aetors or performers in legitinaie
information) enteriainment productions, Minors ewmolled in cooperative education programs, Delivery of REWspapersy.

Tennesseer Employers of minors in violation of the Child Labor Act may be fined up ta $1,000 per violation and/or guilty of a Class A

| Misdemennor, Youlh Pedelling: Maximwm lines up to $10,000 per minoi/per violation,
PENALTIES = ) ; : o
FLSA: Maxiny fines up o 810,000 per arinos/per violation.

e Tennessee: All employers of minors must post in a conspicuous place on the property or plice of employment, where it inay be casily rewd,
POST this poster notdiying minors of the Child Labor Act
REQUIREMENTS

Pasters ave vegitired which state the Child Labor, Mininmnn Wage and Overtine requirements,

Lorinfoomtion. an stale laws contigl:

Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforee Developmen
Labor Stnndurds Division

TH0 Jumes Robertson Parkway, Third Floos

Maghville, TN 37243-0657; ‘Telephone: (615) 741-2858

Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development
and
United States Department of Labor
“"Working in Partnership for Tennessee's Workers”

" Antbawizathon Na MIT206. 00 cogriees. KAM)

Far informaion on fedecal fows contact: aih
UL, Depariment of Labor Wage & Howe Division e“ip
Iistedd in the teleplione divectory wder ULS, Governmens Ve Vimmemce Vimotuirnd o |t d Wha

website: Wit dol. govietawsLsa. him S i ALIA !:-q.l.;:-.».l.‘;::-u—a PP

Tk alcument wink puomigancd at ooustof $.09 jerapy.
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