Skip to main content

2019 Forest R. McFarland Award

Mike Kass

Mike Kass, researcher in the fuels and engines research group, has received the 2019 Forest R. McFarland Award from SAE International.  Kass was recognized for his distinguished leadership and contributions in establishing the first SAE standards committee for unmanned aircraft propulsion.Kass wrote the initial charter and standards whitepaper for this new committee and hosted the inaugural meeting. He also led the organization of a joint workshop between SAE and the Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International, which is the world's largest nonprofit organization dedicated to the advancement of unmanned systems. Established in 1979, the McFarland Award recognizes individuals for their sustained outstanding contributions toward the work of SAE in the planning, development, and dissemination of technical information through meetings, conferences, and professional development programs.