Vehicle Technologies Office honors ORNL researchers

Posted: June 13, 2017

Several ORNL Sustainable Transportation Program researchers received distinguished achievement awards recognizing outstanding individual and team accomplishments at the annual merit review and peer evaluation meeting for the DOE Vehicle Technologies Office.

The ferrite motor team, L-R: Randy Wiles, Timothy Burress, Jason Pries, Lixin Tang. (hi-res image)

The Electrical & Electronics Systems Research Division's Tim Burress, Jason Pries, Lixin Tang and Randy Wiles were honored for their development of a novel ferrite motor that achieves 75 percent higher power than comparable commercial motors without the use of rare earth permanent magnets, lowering costs for electric drivetrains.

The Materials S&T Division's Larry Allard was recognized for increasing fundamental understanding of materials through groundbreaking work on metals to pioneering in situ catalyst characterization that will significantly impact future vehicles.

MSTD's Felix Paulauskas was honored for outstanding research on plasma oxidation for carbon fiber conversion. This technology, now licensed to RMX Technologies, lowers costs and saves energy in the production of carbon fiber.

The Energy & Transportation Science Division's Josh Pihl, Stuart Daw and Vitaly Prikhodko were recognized for their technical leadership in managing the Cross Cut Lean Exhaust Emissions Reduction Simulations initiative, a DOE effort focused on developing computational tools and disseminating data that greatly benefit the emissions control research community.

Co-authors Zhenhong Lin, Changzheng Liu and contributor James Li (all ETSD) along with collaborators from NREL and Argonne received recognition for a report estimating the bounds and important factors for fuel use and consumer costs of connected and automated vehicles.