Datskos receives SPIE's Lehrfeld Award

Posted: June 12, 2017

Panos Datskos, a researcher at the Department of Energy's Oak Ridge National Laboratory, has received the 2017 Eric A. Lehrfeld Award from the Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers.

Datskos is a distinguished scientist and leader of the Energy and Transportation Science Division's Nanosystems, Separations and Materials Research group. He is also a professor at the Bredesen Center for Interdisciplinary Research and Graduate Education at the University of Tennessee and an adjunct professor at Marquette University.

SPIE cited Datskos' significant research achievements in “the physics of nanomaterials, nanostructured surfaces, and micro-electro-mechanical and nano-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS/NEMS), the development of physical and chemical MEMS/NEMS sensors using microcantilevers, uncooled MEMS infrared detectors and microcalorimetric spectroscopy for chemical and explosive detection.”

UT-Battelle manages ORNL for the DOE's Office of Science. The Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States, and is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, please visit