Advanced Materials


Two Advanced Materials researchers named AAAS Fellows

Sean Smith (left) and Alexei Sokolov (right).

Two researchers in advanced materials at ORNL have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Sean Smith, Director of the Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences, was cited by his AAAS peers for "distinguished contributions to the field of computational and theoretical chemistry, including fundamental advances in unimolecular rate theory and exploration of novel functionalities in nanomaterials.”

Alexei Sokolov, Group Leader for the Soft Materials Group in the Chemical Sciences Division and ORNL-UT Distinguished Scientist, was cited for his “distinguished contributions to the field of dynamics of soft materials, including polymers, glass-forming liquids, and biological macromolecules.”

Election as a Fellow is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers.  Fellows are recognized for meritorious efforts to advance science of its application.  AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science.


We're always happy to get feedback from our users. Please use the Comments form to send us your comments, questions, and observations.