Advanced Materials

Honors and Awards

1-8 of 8 Results

Lin receives Honor Medal of Aurel Stodola
— Dr. Hua-Tay Lin, of ORNL's Materials Science and Technology Division, has been selected to receive the 2013 Honor Medal of Aurel Stodola by the Slovak Academy of Sciences. Lin is being recognized for his research activities and significant contributions in sciences on high temperature mechanical behavior of ceramics and composites.

More wins DOE Hydrogen and Fuel Cells Program R&D Award
— Karren L. More of the Materials S&T Division has received the 2013 DOE Hydrogen and Fuel Cells Program R&D Award in recognition of outstanding achievements in leading ORNL's project on Microstructural Characterization of Fuel Cell Materials and in her role as a subcontractor on multiple DOE-funded fuel cell R&D projects.

Cooper receives Early Career Research Program Grant
— Valentino Cooper of the Materials Science and Technology Division is a 2013 recipient of an Office of Science, basic Energy Sciences, Early Career Research Program grant for “First Principles Predictions of Phase Stability in Complex Oxides.

Chemical Sciences Division team earns Rapid Communications Mass Spectrometry honor
— Gary Van Berkel, Olga Ovchinnikova and Vilmos Kertesz of the Chemical Sciences Division have been chosen to receive the 10th Rapid Communications in Mass Spectrometry Beynon Prize.

R&D 100 Awards in Advanced Materials 2012
— Researchers in the Advanced Materials area at ORNL recently received R&D 100 awards. The awards, presented by R&D Magazine, recognize the top 100 innovations of 2012.

Amit Goyal EO Lawrence Award
— The Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award was established in 1959 in honor of E. O. Lawrence, a scientist who helped elevate American physics to world leadership. E. O. Lawrence was the inventor of the cyclotron, an accelerator of subatomic particles, and a 1939 Nobel Laureate in physics for that achievement.

2012 William Hunt Eisenman Award
— Dr. Philip J. Maziasz received the 2012 William Hunt Eisenman Award from ASM International. Dr.

Two Advanced Materials researchers named AAAS Fellows
— Two researchers in advanced materials at ORNL have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).


We're always happy to get feedback from our users. Please use the Comments form to send us your comments, questions, and observations.